Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

dante love

2003-05-21 - 10:27 a.m.

The Dante's Inferno Test has sent you to the First Level of Hell - Limbo!
Here is how you matched up against all the levels:
LevelScore
Purgatory (Repenting Believers)Very Low
Level 1 - Limbo (Virtuous Non-Believers)High
Level 2 (Lustful)Moderate
Level 3 (Gluttonous)Moderate
Level 4 (Prodigal and Avaricious)Very Low
Level 5 (Wrathful and Gloomy)Low
Level 6 - The City of Dis (Heretics)Low
Level 7 (Violent)Moderate
Level 8- the Malebolge (Fraudulent, Malicious, Panderers)Low
Level 9 - Cocytus (Treacherous)Low

Take the Dante Inferno Hell Test

Major shout-outs to Marc and Luis for pointing this one out.

I'm ultra-excited to see Dante coming back into popular culture (although did he ever really leave?) What drives me insane, however, is this crazy insistence on focusing solely on Inferno. You will never understand Inferno unless you read Purgatorio. And really, the Purg is so much better. Inferno is grotesque and sensational and, let's face it, fun fun fun, but the Purg absolutely glows in its humanity. I love Dante best upon that mountain. All of you, go out and find yourself a nice copy of Purgatorio. I reccommend Ciardi or Sinclair, among others. And of course, once you've read Inferno and Purgatorio, you really might as well finish up with Paradiso. I won't lie, Paradiso is hard. Hard along the lines of Milton's "Doctrine and Discipline of Divorce." Okay, maybe not quite as hard as DDD, but it still takes some will to get through it. But once you're finished, you've gone on this gorgeous incredible journey, the likes of which you will never take with anyone else.

So ends my plug for Dante Alighieri.

Read up, kiddies.

SIDE NOTE: R has agreed to let me name the eventual dog "Dante."

previous - next

Die Entfuehrung
Die Entfuehrung aus dem Serail (The Abduction From
the Seraglio).
Which Mozart Opera Does Your Life Most Resemble?
brought to you by Quizilla

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com