Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

birthday!

2003-10-01 - 4:11 p.m.

My apartment is now tidy, albeit hardly anally neat. Just to give you an indication--at about 12:30 last night, my husband walked into the kitchen and said "Wow! We have counters! Don't remember the last time I saw those!" Yes, Virginia, we do have counters. And they have been sweetly wiped down with semi-organic Sunshine counter cleaner.

Our place looks so nice when it is all neat and tidy; I wish we could keep it that way more often. It will stay like this for about a week, and then we'll come home all exhausted for 3 days in a row and it will proceed to look like some sort of mother's nightmare of sloth. I can't help but think all this would be avoided if only the cat would pull her own weight and pick up once in a while. But no, all she does is sleep and stare out the window. I think I'm going to have to have a serious conversation with her, letting her know that all members of the household have certain duties, and seeing as she pays no rent, she should really be picking up the slack on the housekeeping front.

N and her mom get in tonight, possibly in an hour or so. I'm very excited, as I'd mentioned before, but evidently not so excited as to actually write in her birthday card. I'd wanted to write something really mushy about how we'd grown apart and now our friendship was stronger for it and how she's really the closest thing to a sister I have and my very bestest friend, but chances are I'll wind up writing "Ha ha, Happy Birthday you freaky girl. Go read my online diary, it says some lovely things about you."

The weather has finally turned colder, which is lovely. I've taken my French leather jacket out of summer storage (i.e., the hall closet). This lovely Jewish Parisian man sold us jackets, and gave us substantial discounts for being American (which was the VAT refund) and then another 10% for being Jewish. Although that may be all prejudice-y and nonPC, it was still really nice to feel a part of the world-wide Jewish community like that, especially after coming from some parts of Eurpoe that were very anti-Semitic. So we're in the leather shop, and we're all trying to find a jacket that fits me. I have something of an hour-glass figure, so the guy says "It is hard to find a good jacket for you, because you have big hips!" Then he realized what he'd said and started in with the "Oh, but it is a woman's figure, just like a woman should be." yeah, yeah. The problem is not so much that my hips are big as it is that my shoulders and arms are bizarrely small. And my bosom is bizarrely ample. So it is always fun to go clothes shopping.

In other news, I'm going to see "Norma" at the Washington Opera! The friend for whom I threw a baby shower is taking me as my birthday present. Needless to say, I'm very excited, as I had only budgeted for one opera, and that's supposed to be "Die Walkure" with Placido Domingo. Incest and adultery, here I come!

previous - next

Die Entfuehrung
Die Entfuehrung aus dem Serail (The Abduction From
the Seraglio).
Which Mozart Opera Does Your Life Most Resemble?
brought to you by Quizilla

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com