Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

missing Cannes

2003-10-08 - 4:50 p.m.

Early in the morning

Of a lovely summer day,

As they lowered the bright awning

At the outdoor cafe,

I was breakfasting on croissants,

and cafe au lait

Under greenery like scenery,

Rue Francois Premier.

They were hosing the hot pavement

With a dash of flashing spray

And a smell of summer flowers

When the dust is drenched away.

Under greenery like scenery,

Rue Fancois Premier,

I was twenty and a lover

And in Paradise to stay.

Very early in the morning

Of a lovely summer day.

-- Robert Hillyer

There's your deep thought for the day.

I remember vividly breakfasting on croissants and cafe au lait myself when I was in Cannes at the tender age of twenty. The light came in through the windows like silver, and everything smelled so fresh and beautiful, with the gentle tang of the sea undercutting the mix of floral and bread. Everything was shimmery in the still-cool mornings, and you could bear the heat of the day for the sake of those gorgeous mornings and those silky-soft evenings. I'd love to get back to Cannes, but I don't see it happening anytime soon.

previous - next

Die Entfuehrung
Die Entfuehrung aus dem Serail (The Abduction From
the Seraglio).
Which Mozart Opera Does Your Life Most Resemble?
brought to you by Quizilla

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com