Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

bad news bears

2004-04-20 - 2:50 p.m.

Been listening to Indigo Girls a lot lately, especially "Watershed." The constant disappointment of the Housing Debacle is starting to weigh on me a little. I have to work hard to keep it in perspective; there are so many times during the day when it seems we will never find a place that's not either way too small (we'd have to put stuff in storage) or over an hour from DC. I'm sure eventually we'll find something--after all, we've only been looking for 3 weeks. I can't believe I thought this was going to be fun.

Everyone says that the settlement process is so much worse than this, but I don't think they're right. At least after you've got your contract accepted, you're most likely not going to loose the house. Most people don't get screwed over at that stage. It can't get worse than going and seeing house after house, trying to imagine yourself living there but trying not to get too emotionally invested, then putting in contracts and getting them rejected time after time. It feels like this will never end, and we'll just be looking at places that we can't figure out how to get into. We're going to change our tactics slightly and start again.

The running is going well. I woke up early this morning and pounded the pavement for close to an hour. Run for five minutes, walk for five. One crochety old man asked "Aren't you supposed to be jogging?" I wanted to say "Hey, crochety old bastard, at least I'm out doing some exercise and not just snarking around my yard, clipping all the flowers off the shrubbery and vainly trying to turn the heads of young girls by insulting them in a jovial tone of voice." Instead, I explained "This is my walking period! This is when I rest!" I'm sure I sounded unbearably twee, as I often do when I repressing the urge to rip someone's head off with my teeth.

previous - next

Die Entfuehrung
Die Entfuehrung aus dem Serail (The Abduction From
the Seraglio).
Which Mozart Opera Does Your Life Most Resemble?
brought to you by Quizilla

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com