Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

much ado about not much

2004-09-09 - 4:54 p.m.

Obviously I haven't been updating here a lot, and I'm not sure why. I'll try to be better about this.

*****

My choir has started up again, and we're gearing up for performances with the NSO Pops wtih Marvin Hamlisch. We're doing the final number for a Cole Porter tribute concert. It will be exciting to sing at Kennedy Center, since every other time we've been scheduled to sing there I've either been out of town or miserably sick. Yay me! Still, I'm not as excited as I thought I would be. I'm working on a nifty French song which I find far more involving. I'm afraid I'm going to have to give up my sight-singing classes, because the house, she is so expensive.

Still, I'm excited about fall and the impending holiday season. We shall have to carve pumpkins into jack-o-lanterns. By "we" I really mean "R," since the last time I attempted to carve any kind of fruit the end result resembled the efforts of a drunken five-year-old. But we have sweet sweet children in our neighborhood, and I will not disappoint them by not partaking in Halloween festivities. Said festivities might also include caramel-scented candles from Bath and Body Works.

*****

This is surely the best example of poetic justice I've seen in a long long time. If I had a larger yard and more time I would adopt one of these guys. Uut little Miss Kitty might not approve of that.

The Fur is steadfastly refusing to shed her summer coat, insisting it is still fashionable and she can really wear it late into fall. I try to convince her that she should be generous and donate the summer coat to the worms, and then she'd get a nice brand new winter coat. She just sulks on the clean laundry, deeming this year's winter stylings "hideously insipid." I'm sure eventually she'll give in, leaving her summer coat lying around the house in clumps for me to deal with. She's a sweet little thing, but still shows no interest in cleaning her own litterbox, much less scrubbing out the bathroom tub.

*****

Here is an amazing and wonderful story that I meant to call your attention to ages ago. If only the rest of the world could be like this and settle land issues so amicably. The Wiyot tribe is awesome, and I hope they get their whole island back very soon. I'm looking forward to seeing them reclaim their sacred space.

Also, in a slightly related story, some people need to realize that the controversy over the Klamath and Trinity rivers isn't just about fish. I suppose an argument can be made that the rights of farmers take precedence over the rights of an endangered species. It's not an argument I agree with. But I don't think you can argue that the rights of farmers take precedence over the rights of fishermen (and women) and tribal water rights. It's downright asinine.

previous - next

Die Entfuehrung
Die Entfuehrung aus dem Serail (The Abduction From
the Seraglio).
Which Mozart Opera Does Your Life Most Resemble?
brought to you by Quizilla

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com