Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

singin' and runnin' and NEWS

2004-09-14 - 10:53 a.m.

Marvin Hamlisch is de-lovely! He came to rehearse us last night, and he is just a lion of sweet. He started off the night by promising not to make any religious jokes, but wished "anyone who's here a Happy New Year!" As R might say, a MOT.* Things just progressed from there. He was pretty satisfied with what we'd done so far, but worked with us on our attitude ("You need to be proud you were a sinner! This is your chance to tell God how you sinned! You're HAPPY!") and changed some of the rhythms around to add some more punch. He adored working with our high school girls, who'll walk out on stage with tambourines during the last page or so of the piece. I think this is going to be a great performance, and I honestly look forward to working with Mr. Hamlisch again. He was really just a delight.

I finished my 8K race in 59:52, eight seconds under my goal. I still can't get over how nice other runners are--once again, two minutes from the finish, a man jumped in to run with me. "How we doin?" he asked.

"I'm trying to beat an hour."

"Where're you at now?"

"58 minutes."

"Okay. We can do this. Get those arms pumping, and keep breathing nice and big. Just get those arms pumping and increase your stride if you can." He coached me in to the finish line--R jumped in for the last few yards, but I could barely tell. I was close to blacking out, but I knew I had it in the bag.

There were over 800 people in the race, and I was in the last 50 finishers. R says I can't compare myself to other people, especially considering I've only been running for 6 months. I know he's right, but I would still like to be faster than I am. I know I'll never more than average, due to my body type. But I'd like to not be fighting for last place, as I felt I was doing in this race. I really need to buckle down and do some speed work. Maybe I'll make that a winter goal, since I don't think I'll be doing too many long runs once it gets cold. If anyone knows a track in the Centreville, VA, area, please drop me a line.

Currently I'm waiting for some news...I'm hoping to post an update here sooner rather than later. Stay tuned...

UPDATE: My family is a little bigger as of this afternoon. My beautiful sister-in-law C gave birth to little Malia Maryn, 7 lbs. 2 oz, 18 inches long. We're so glad you're here, little girl!

*MOT--Member Of the Tribe

previous - next

Die Entfuehrung
Die Entfuehrung aus dem Serail (The Abduction From
the Seraglio).
Which Mozart Opera Does Your Life Most Resemble?
brought to you by Quizilla

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com