Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

ennui and malaise, dogs and cats living together, mass hysteria!!

2005-05-06 - 1:59 p.m.

Screwed-up story of the day. Although, truth be told, if that puppy had beans in it, the kid may indeed have been in posession of a lethal weapon. insert appropriate drum/cymbal noises here. As my good friends of the rag-tag fleet would say--What the frack is our society coming to?

In other news, this pretty much made me cry. It really almost feels like Bush is dead set on ruining everything I care about on the national level. Thanks a lot, Mr. President.

I've been in a terrible state of ennui all week. A coworker's wife died over the weekend, and I think that's contributing to it. Even though I didn't know her very well, there's definitely a pall over the whole office this week. Yesterday everyone went to her memorial services. Because I stayed late for that and missed my buss, it took me over an hour and a half to get home yesterday. R had ordered dinner, and I ate, watched an episode of Stargate, took a shower, and just passed out on the bed. I think I was asleep by 10 P.M. I couldn't help thinking of my poor coworker. Soon everyone will get back to their lives and he'll have to go about the business of putting his life back together. After the services, I gave him a big hug, and he said "Well, at least we got through that." But I think that was the easy part. The hard part is yet to come, and I wish there was some way I could make it easier for him. Regardless, the whole affair makes me so grateful for my husband and so appreciative of everything he does for me.

In television news, I've been enjoying random episodes of "The Office." I know, I really need to watch the British version, but I am lazy and never watch my Netflix. But I'm finding the American version to be pretty good. It's refreshing not to have a laugh track, which I have come to despise. And it's nice to watch a show that's not wedded to a conventional happy ending. Seems like these days the only non-happy endings sitcoms will go for is romantic difficulties, which just bore me to tears. But "The Office" seems like a smart little show so far. Let's hope it doesn't become assy and craptacular halfway through the season ("Lost," I'm looking at you).

Read "The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time" yesterday on the commute. Very good, and I definitely reccomend. But it's not quite as good as the reviews would have you believe. It didn't rock my world-view, but it had a compelling narrator and wonderfully flawed characters. All around, I'll give it a hearty "Well played." More reviews potentially to come later. I've been reading a lot more these days, which is nice.

I've also picked up my knitting needles, which is even nicer. One of these days I really need to get down to the knitting store in Alexandria. Probably I should just commit to taking a class, and then I can pick up the nice wooden needles that I want along the knowledge to use them. Right now I'm working on a scarf for one of my sisters-in-law as a college graduation present. I need to finish it pretty soon, so I can make her twin a scarf as well (as they are both graduating together). It's nice to have something to do with my hands while I'm relaxing in the evening.

Must go home and write out scales for my sight-singing class--still going very well. In fact, it came in quite handy at the memorial yesterday when I had to sight-read the hymns we were all singing, as I'm not a Christian. Although I did obviously know "Joyful, Joyful," "Amazing Grace" and "Silent Night."

previous - next

Die Entfuehrung
Die Entfuehrung aus dem Serail (The Abduction From
the Seraglio).
Which Mozart Opera Does Your Life Most Resemble?
brought to you by Quizilla

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com