Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

101 in 1001 update

2006-02-10 - 2:52 p.m.

I'm in an absurdly good mood today. A dear friend received her 2nd Emmy nomination--good on you, N!! Another dear friend and I have been exchanging snarky snarky e-mails about a certain Smug Homeowner Conservative on the internetweb. I had a revenue target for some ads I was selling. I did not make this target. I blew it out of the fucking water!! And, most delightfully, we'll be having the first snow storm of the year this weekend. On a Saturday, so I can sit inside all cozy and watch falling snow all day, next to a roaring fire. I can make chicken soup. I can suit up for a snowy romp outside, and then come in for a steaming cup of hot chocolate, perhaps with a little bit of Kahlua mixed in--for medicinal purposes, I assure you!!

Anyways, this sunny mood is a welcome respite from the traditional sturm und drang which usually accompanies the period in which Association gears up for our big conference. But lo, I am a happy happy girl, and intend to remain so for as long as possible. The only kink in my weekend is that I was planning to get my hairs cut and my eyebrows waxed in a futile attempt to conform with Things 44 and 45 on this list. However, the impending snow storm (at least, what passes for a snow storm in NoVa) will prevent from piloting my intrepid little Jetta over to the gym.

In fact, let�s examine the things I have done on this list in the past few months.

12. Have people over to our house at least once every 3-4 months. I seem to be good with this, as I�ve had people over every 3 or 4 months since last year. Of course, often those people are our neighbors�but every 3 or 4 months, I actually clean the house and prepare a nice dinner or brunch.

34. Knit something other than a scarf. Lo, I am now knitting an afghan! And I knitted a shawl for my grandmother for Christmas.

36. Something people would pay money for�perhaps at my choir�s annual silent auction.I�m counting this as done, even though the auction hasn�t happened. Regardless, I knit another shawl and donated it to the auction.

53. Take a yoga class I have taken a yoga class! And I intend to start taking them more regularly at the gym. However, I took three yoga classes�one was challenging, one was very easy and the third was way insanely hard and gave me sciatica.

60. Host Thanksgiving This year my SIL B came out for Thanksgiving. We made way too much food and had a blast. I gained a lot of confidence about cooking a major holiday meal, and think I�d like to try it again this year. Changes? I�d make a much smaller turkey�mine as 16 pounds for 3 people, which is insane. I�d get the cheap sausages rather than the gourmet sausages�cheap frozen sausages taste more like Thanksgiving, and no one will eat them except for me anyhow. I�d make the stuffing a day ahead. Other than that, I think I did a damn good job.

65. Make at least one new friend. I�m going to count this one as done, because last year at this time I wasn�t nearly as close with neighbor Y as I feel today. So even though we were definitely friendly a year ago, I�m counting her as a new friend for this year.

68. Cook a gourmet meal completely from scratch for my cousins, who are constantly feeding us. We had a lovely Christmas Eve brunch for my cousins this year. Although we had store-bought chocolates for dessert, we did have home-made Questionable Quiche (so named because I screwed up the recipe but it turned out okay), caramelized onion tart, latkes, and most importantly, home-made mimosas. Yummy! I�m counting this as from scratch.

98. Make more desserts. Ooh baby! I�ve been doing this with a vengeance, leading to a rather chubby January. But I�ve made cookies and pies and biscotti and muffins and peanut butter fudge and over the holiday season, and I don�t regretted the making of any of it one tiny bit. The eating of it? That�s a different story!

So there is the update. 636 days to go, and 80 things to do!

previous - next

Die Entfuehrung
Die Entfuehrung aus dem Serail (The Abduction From
the Seraglio).
Which Mozart Opera Does Your Life Most Resemble?
brought to you by Quizilla

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com