Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

post-pre-wedding jitters

2002-05-08 - 10:11 a.m.

music: Die Zauberflote

My parents have come and gone--it was mostly a very good visit. Did all the wedding stuff--got bridesmaid dresses, shoes, special strapless bra, etc. Had dinner with the lovely cousins at Peking Gourmet Inn--you would never EVER go to this place unless someone told you about it, but it is actually very good. Evidently the Bushes eat there lots. great.

Auditioned privately for Doug to make sure I could still sing the Verdi--I've missed many rehearsals, taking care of the sick Wealhtheow fiance earlier in spring and taking prof. development classes on the weekends, thereby missing Saturday rehearsals. Sure enough, I can still sing the Verdi. Hate to sound pompous, but I really loved the way my voice was on Monday night. Those high notes are no longer any problem at all for me. I remember struggling to reach a G with good tone, and now I don't even need to think about it. I have a lesson again tonight. Constant rehearsals next week. Then another audition next Monday.

BOOKS:

Wealhtheow has been too busy to read! I'm still working on The Inextinguishable Symphony--it is really excellent, I've just not had time to sit down and read more than a couple chapters here, a couple there.

The NPR Curious Listener's Guide to Opera--v. good, although I disagree with some of their choices in the CD library section. Also, don't expect to hear anything about the younger stars--the book completely ignores Renee Fleming, Bryn Terfel and the like. Funny, no Sarah Brightman or Andrea Bocelli! (gag)

Last night I dreamt I had only $30 in my checking account, but I had just written a check for $40. I also somehow dreamt I was escaping Nazis, and at another point, I dreamt my cell phone was ringing and I was vaulting over my couch to find it.

MOVIES

"Murder by Numbers" with the parents. Pretty good--certainly didn't feel like I wasted my money. No real suspense to the thing, but was intruiging. B.

"Spiderman" with the fiance. Quite cool. The web-swinging looked very fake, and it was, but it was also joyous in a cheesy manner. Supposedly there will be more. B+.

That's all for now from the Wealhtheow Diaries.

previous - next

Die Entfuehrung
Die Entfuehrung aus dem Serail (The Abduction From
the Seraglio).
Which Mozart Opera Does Your Life Most Resemble?
brought to you by Quizilla

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com