Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1

2002-06-27 - 2:07 p.m.

I'm about 3 little marky-things under redline on my stress-o-meter. I think it's going to stay that way till the wedding. Every so often (like once or twice a day) something happens that pushes me into freak mode, but then I back down again.

Not so happy with the Supreme Court these days, but since I already did big diatribes with L, I'll not go into it at this present moment. Which is not the moment you will read this, hardy-har-har!

Headed out to a wedding shower this weekend. Should be lots of fun-filled fun! It is for a friend at work.

The Wealhtheow fiance is all steamed about the pledge of alleigance thing. I think it's great! They should just take out "under G-d" and it would be fine. As I told L, one's relationship with the Creator or lack thereof has no bearing on one's loyalty to the state. I would never recite the pledge in a situation where I was mandated to do so, nor would I ever sign a loyalty oath as a condition of employment (unless I was working for the government directly). Patriotism under duress is a mockery of America.

I leave you with this thought...

"Among twenty snowy mountains

The only moving thing

Was the eye of the blackbird"

--Wallace Stevens

"Thirteen Ways of Looking at a Blackbird, I"

previous - next

Die Entfuehrung
Die Entfuehrung aus dem Serail (The Abduction From
the Seraglio).
Which Mozart Opera Does Your Life Most Resemble?
brought to you by Quizilla

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com