Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

music musings

2003-01-22 - 4:47 p.m.

OK,so we're singing this program which features movie music. Now in my family, this is referred to as "faux music." And I think I finally figured out why. The damn stuff is so god-damn boring and repetitious. And often stupid. For instance, we're singing a piece from "First Knight" called "Never Surrender." It is from the final battle scene. Nevermind the fact that it's a crappy crappy crappy ripoff of "O Fortuna." The damn piece doesn't end. And the words! Good fucking Christ! It's like they just threw together some liturgy cause it sounded good. It upsets me. Greatly.

But even the good stuff is repetitious. John Williams wrote a very pretty hymn for "Empire of the Sun"--but the music doesn't really go anywhere. You can tell it's written for background. I mean, I think the piece could have been fabulous if it had been written to stand on its own. But it hadn't.

Fortunately we're doing some Mozart from "Amadeus"--namely the Confutatis and Lacrymosa from his Requiem. It keeps me sane. Plus I am wildly excited about doing the music from "How the West Was Won." No, that was not sarcastic. Yes, I am aware that winning the west was not glamorous or fair and it was more like stealing the west. But still, I have to admire the individuals who abandoned everything to hack their livelihood out of a new country. Yes, I did get that from "Last of the Mohicans."

Deciding whether or not to do the Berkshire Choral Festival this year. I'd really like to go, but I don't want to eat up all my vacation time this year. We'll see how things pan out. One of the sessions is doing "Sea Symphony" by Vaughn Williams. Yummmy! But I'm not certain I have either time or money to do this. Perhaps I shall only apply for that session and let fate have her merry way with me.

previous - next

Die Entfuehrung
Die Entfuehrung aus dem Serail (The Abduction From
the Seraglio).
Which Mozart Opera Does Your Life Most Resemble?
brought to you by Quizilla

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com