Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

UCSB 4-evah!

2003-01-29 - 4:47 p.m.

Watched "The State of the Union" last night. Bush initially shocked me by talking about how our economy is improving and growing. I don't know what he's smoking, but I want some!! Then when he talked about his environmental plans to protect against forest fires, my jaw literally dropped open and hung that way for about 5 minutes. During this time I was making incoherent rage noises and drooling. Of course, Shrubbie's plan for getting rid of forest fires is to CUT DOWN THE TREES!!! That's right, no trees, nothing left to burn. Sheer genius! Why didn't I think of that? Then he started mouthing about "our precious natural resources." And I'm thinking, "Oh, so that's why you support diverting so much water from the Klamath River that the largest fish kill in the last few hundred years recently took place--and then had the Department of the INterior try to squash the report that said the kill was due solely to a lack of water and the reprecussions of said lack? Hot damn, you can kill two birds with one stone here...fuck over the environment AND the Indians whose tribal claim to the land was never completely acknowledged!" Gail Norton, kiss my ass!

Probably going to a UCSB alumni reception with Chancellor Henry Yang in a few minutes. I'm dying to see how he's going to work in the "twin goals of excellence and diversity." Good old Hank!! He really only has one speech--he just customizes it for the occasion.

previous - next

Die Entfuehrung
Die Entfuehrung aus dem Serail (The Abduction From
the Seraglio).
Which Mozart Opera Does Your Life Most Resemble?
brought to you by Quizilla

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com