Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

rambles and brambles

2003-03-21 - 11:44 p.m.

Shock and awe, kids, shock and awe.

I'm referring, of course, not to the current Iraqi war, but to our cat. In the selfish way I have, I'm focusing on immediate problems that I can solve.

We woke up this morning and it looked like the cat tried to gouge her eye out. I forsee a visit to the vet tomorrow. We've upped her prednisone dosage again. She's doing better--this morning she was literally cowering in pain.

I know it seems to trivial in the face of war, but please spare a thought for our cat. She's a good girl and feels pain as much as a human can.

In other news, it looks like Iraqis are surrendering and that some of the general populace is glad to see us. I hope that's true. I do some some of the guys in the front lines have removed the flags from their uniforms, symbolizing that they are going in as an army of liberation.

I know I've bitched plenty with cynicism about the concept of Iraqi liberation, but R reminded me tonight that our troops in the field really seem to feel as though that is what they're fighting for. And if it's what they think they're fighting for, then that is what they're fighting for. So I guess what I'm saying is that even though I think our government is full of shit, I am completely willling to give benefit of the doubt to our troops and I'll give them my full support.

Now that I've rambled on and on, probably incoherently, R has a special message for one of the loyal readers--"L, you are a bum for not callng me back."

UPDATE: L is longer a bum, having dutifully called R. And he talked to me too, because evidently I am not a complete social pariah.

previous - next

Die Entfuehrung
Die Entfuehrung aus dem Serail (The Abduction From
the Seraglio).
Which Mozart Opera Does Your Life Most Resemble?
brought to you by Quizilla

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com