Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

pets

2003-06-10 - 3:58 p.m.

Ahh, my dearest children. Friends were visiting. Male friends. Single male friends. Suffice it to say that I now know hand signals to indicate what sort of unmentionables a woman is wearing.

I've been eating a lot of sugar lately, and I've become quite unfond of it. Not of the actual sugar, but of how it makes me feel--all exhausted and cranky and unstable. Today I am exhausted from the houseguests, which I think is purely a social thing. Although I love having visitors, having to keep my "social face" on that long really tires me out. Since I was quite wifely over the weekend, I'm being taken out to dinner tonight.

I believe reviews are due to you, but you'll have to wait another day. It shall be worth your while, I swear. You can also expect a review of "Nine Parts of Desire: The Hidden World of Islamic Women."

I was reading somewhere a comment about how we need to stop exploiting animals as pets (which I agree with if they're being exploited) and how we need to learn to be satisfied with the companionship of other humans. I disagree with the latter clause violently. How we twine our lives with pets is one of the holiest miracles I know of. It is a sacred partnership. Those of you who know me have heard my mantra "There is no love like the love of a dog." I don't think our lives are complete unless we can learn to share them with a nonhuman companion. Pets make us better people. They teach us how to love more fully.

previous - next

Die Entfuehrung
Die Entfuehrung aus dem Serail (The Abduction From
the Seraglio).
Which Mozart Opera Does Your Life Most Resemble?
brought to you by Quizilla

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com