Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

new stuff

2003-07-14 - 2:38 p.m.

Great weekend fun ensued over the past couple days.

Saturday we woke up early and went out on the Potomac for our first kayaking experience (together, at least). It was completely awesome. I'm a water baby at heart--I can't remember learning to swim, and I can't remember the first time I went sailing. I grew up in and on the water. Starting in college, but especially since we've moved to DC, spending time by the water has really taken a backseat in my life. But I think Saturday really changed all that. It was so perfect to be out on the water again, to be out in the quiet country. R loved it as much as I did--so much so that we're headed back tonight for a couple hours of paddling. I think we've finally found the sport that we can do together--and one that can grow with us. Wherever we go, we can kayak. Plus, we're good at this. I've never tried a sport that I'm good at. Now I don't mean to say that I'm a natural kayaker and blew everyone away with my skill and speed. But I definitely near the head of the class, and I even more definitely didn't suck at this.

After we got back on Saturday we grabbed some coffee at the local coffee shop. While there I spotted a flier for a 5-year-old cat named Thistle that needed a home. I'm sure you see where this is heading.... Thistle is now at home with the husband, following him faithfully around. She's a little sad and misses her old family, but I think she's going to settle in really nicely in the next month. She's one of the sweetest cats I've ever seen--all she wants is love. In fact, I almost feel guilty about leaving her tonight to go off kayaking. But R has been with her all day long, and I really want to get out there to get this stuff ingrained in my muscle memory.

So that's the news. I'm thinking about becoming a Gold Member on so that I may post pictures of the new kitty.

And C--sooner or later I will be sending you more helpful books--but I'm sending you pyschic love right now!

previous - next

Die Entfuehrung
Die Entfuehrung aus dem Serail (The Abduction From
the Seraglio).
Which Mozart Opera Does Your Life Most Resemble?
brought to you by Quizilla

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com