Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

boring

2003-08-11 - 3:00 p.m.

Finally got my recording of our Faure Requiem/Lux Aeterna concert. It sounds awesome, and I'm ultra-glad the soprano solos by the Boulanger sisters made it on as well.

I've been listening to the Faure pretty much nonstop since Sunday. Even though everyone was playing Mozart's Requiem after Sept. 11, I think it should have been Faure. Mozart has a lot of "sinners in the hands of an angry god" moments--Faure is rather the penitent returning home. Go out and grab a copy--highlights for me are the first "amen" in the Offertory--when the music turns from dark to light. I also love the In Paradisum setting as well as the Libera Me.

Also bought "Down From the Mountain" off the Apple Music Store. Haven't had a chance to listen to much, but I like what I've heard so far.

OK, back to work.

previous - next

Die Entfuehrung
Die Entfuehrung aus dem Serail (The Abduction From
the Seraglio).
Which Mozart Opera Does Your Life Most Resemble?
brought to you by Quizilla

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com