Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

storm preparations

2003-09-16 - 3:49 p.m.

I went to the store today and stocked up on canned food and batteries, feeling rather like an idiot the whole time. But I suppose it's better to be an idiot with food than an idiot without food. If worse comes to worst, we can always eat my tinned fois gras (which I've been saving for a special occasion, since I know all of 3 people who'll eat the stuff. But honestly, kids, it's like eating silky velvet.), but R won't eat that so it would fall to me and Thistle.

I'm pretty sure Isabel will turn inland and we'll just get huge amounts of rain--but possibly with some high winds. Most of me wants to see a bad storm because I love storms, but the tiny,more sensible part hopes it veers away from us.

I do love storms. The President's Day Storm, which dumped 16 inches of snow on DC, was fabulous. I hope it happens again this year--only not right before our national conference. I'm hoping for a bad winter for dramatic snowfall. One of the things I miss most about living on the ocean is going to watch the storms on the water.

previous - next

Die Entfuehrung
Die Entfuehrung aus dem Serail (The Abduction From
the Seraglio).
Which Mozart Opera Does Your Life Most Resemble?
brought to you by Quizilla

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com