Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

heading on out

2004-01-23 - 10:24 a.m.

Heading off to London tonight, so don't expect any updates next week. Although there might be one if I can sneak off to an internet cafe.

I was talking to a co-worker this morning over stale bagels, and somehow the conversation came around to Dante. She had read, and loved, Inferno (after all, to know it is to love it) but had not gone further with the Purg. I think I succeeded in convincing to read my beloved Purg. It is the absolute pinacle of Dantism. I have rhapsodized about it before, so I shall not continue in this vein. I was considering loaning her one of my Purgs, but would that be too obnoxious?

I'm all set for the long flight: we have a copy of Once Upon A Time in Mexico; much music upon my iPod; noise-cancelling head-sets; and two books: The Eyre Affair by someone British, and the sequel to Running with Demons by Terry Brooks. You can see I researched my in-flight reading material quite thoroughly. I also have moisturizing facial spray in my carry-on bag. I'm sure I will be mercilessly mocked for this when my husband finds out, but wait unitl mid-flight when his skin is parched. Then who'll be begging me for facial spray? Mua-ha-ha-ha!!! I love how your skin is always "parched" according to high-end moisturizers and faux-high-end moisturizers.

I was watching old home videos, and I came across a mini-concert my brother and I put on. I realized that he is really an excellent musician, and was even as a young child. I, on the other hand, sucked ass. It's been bothering me ever since. I'm sucking ass right now in my piano lessons, mostly because I don't practice enough. It's making me really doubt this whole idea of going into music professionally and teaching voice in 15-20 years. I've been working on the same cheesy Bach minuet for over a month, and I'm still making the same hugely stupid mistakes. I don't feel that I express anything original in my music, and when I sang for my parents a couple weeks ago, they appeared largely underwhelmed. I'm just full of doubts--maybe that's a good thing and it will make me practice more. Or maybe I'll just whine about it in my online diary.

previous - next

Die Entfuehrung
Die Entfuehrung aus dem Serail (The Abduction From
the Seraglio).
Which Mozart Opera Does Your Life Most Resemble?
brought to you by Quizilla

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com