Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

I didn't think I was an intellectual snob

2004-04-13 - 2:13 p.m.

Today is officially The Slowest Day. Ever. (to be said a la the Comic Book Store guy from The Simpsons)

Last night I had another one of my cherished illusions shattered. I thought John Donne was a household name, like Dante or Milton. Turns out, he's not. Not at all. I thought everyone in high school read "The Flea" and giggled at the inherent naughtiness therein. Yeah. Wrong again. I was mercilessly mocked for this belief.

This is like when I found out in college that not everyone knows who Gloria Steinem is. I almost cried.

Shit, Dante and Milton are household names, aren't they?

Omigawd, if this day goes any slower I'm going to seriously chew nails.

previous - next

Die Entfuehrung
Die Entfuehrung aus dem Serail (The Abduction From
the Seraglio).
Which Mozart Opera Does Your Life Most Resemble?
brought to you by Quizilla

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com