Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

post-mortem

2004-12-10 - 10:57 a.m.

First off, singing at the Kennedy Center is an amazing thing to be able to do. My mother and I were speaking last night, and she said "You can tell your children, and your grandchildren, that you sang at the Kennedy Center!" Although I've worked hard to get where I am, the singing opportunities I've had have also been the result of some amazing luck, and I am deeply thankful for the chance to sing in one of the great venues in this country.

The concert last night went mostly very very well. We felt the tiniest bit flat on "Silent Night," not enough to stick out to the audience, but just enough so that the music didn't sparkle. Our sitting and standing cues got a little ragged as the evening progressed, something I hope we'll be able to clean up tonight. Most problematic was the very end, when we were singing with the gospel choir. Every time we sing the Hallelujah chorus with them it seems to be a little different. In the dress rehearsal, their director did an excellent job of cueing us, so no one was worried. Last night, however, her cues weren't nearly as clear as they had been in the dress, and neither our chorus nor the orchestra stopped on time. It felt really unprofessional, and I'm hoping the director will go back to totally telegraphing to us. Although one can argue that we shouldn't need it, our choir is still not sure if their choir is singing 4 or 8 bars of "hallelujahs," as we have heard them do both.

One concert down, three more to go. Last night as I was on stage, all I could think was how much I would love to do this for a living, how much I would love for this to be my life. Unfortunately, right now we have neither the money nor the time for me to get to that stage. If I felt that it wasn't a crap shoot, I might be more willing to invest myself in doing what it takes, but there are so many sopranos around, and I'm hardly exceptional. Still, it would be nice to get paid when I'm putting in 20-hour weeks on my music.

Going home to Arcata soon. I'd like to get in touch with my old choir teacher and sing for him. I think he'd enjoy that.

previous - next

Die Entfuehrung
Die Entfuehrung aus dem Serail (The Abduction From
the Seraglio).
Which Mozart Opera Does Your Life Most Resemble?
brought to you by Quizilla

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com