Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

peer pressure for a very special reader

2005-08-23 - 10:11 p.m.

Wow, it's been a while, huh? I keep writing entries, lacking the time to finish them and then deleting them. So here it is--the entry that shall not be denied.

Luis and his Reina came to visit us this past weekend. I love Luis dearly, but we had not quite realized to what extent we are The Same Person. It is a mite spooky, but not in a creepy doppelganger way. After they left, R said "So that's why I liked Luis right away." And indeed it is.

Saturday we threw a BBQ in their honor, as well as to celebrate a few August birthdays. We had an obscene amount of food, although no actual barbeque. Still, there was a choice selection of grilled meats, corn, homemade salsa, cheese, baguettes, crudites, salad, homemade chimichurri sauce, cookies, homemade blackberry cobbler with creme anglaise, cookies and watermelon. When we party, we do not do so by halves. There was much beer and wine and soda and all sorts of beverages. Unfortunately, I burned my hands but good--first with chemical burns from slicing jalapenos, then with heat burns from taking hot shit out of the oven and handling it before I shoudl have. The end result--halfway through the party saw me literally whimpering in pain as I ran outside and stuck my fingers in the ice-water from the cooler. Very few guests noticed, so I bear my martyrdom proudly. Still, the event was a pretty major success. Next time around I'll prepare more dishes a day ahead, but you live, you learn.

Now the K_____ family is gone, and we await our nephew, coming in on Friday. Saturday we're heading down to Virginia Beach, then over to Colonial Williamsburg for the rest of the weekend, returning to DC on Monday. I'm really looking forward to it. K is almost 10, so he's still young enough to get into things and not be "too cool," but not young enough so that i must change his diapers. Best of both worlds, I maintain.

That's about it for now. I must end this entry while there is still a chance of it being posted. Griffin, I think you ought to come visit too. All the cool kids are. Don't you want to be cool?

previous - next

Die Entfuehrung
Die Entfuehrung aus dem Serail (The Abduction From
the Seraglio).
Which Mozart Opera Does Your Life Most Resemble?
brought to you by Quizilla

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com