Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

thanksgiving rundown

2005-11-29 - 9:54 a.m.

No one signs my guest book except for weird spammers. It is bizarre.

Cautionary tale #1: Change your contacts religiously and always be very good about washing your hands before you take them out or put them in. I have not followed this advice, and yea, I have reaped my just desserts. I shall spare details, but the words oozing and weeping spring to mind. Now I have two pairs of glasses (it was buy one, get one free), including a pretty dork/indie/library-gal pair. I like them--I think they make me look a little butch.

Thanksgiving went very well. I swallowed my pride and asked my SIL to handle the mashed potatoes, and they were indeed wonderful. The turkey was delicious--I urge you all to brine, brine, brine away! It was highly juicy, although the oven did smoke in a rather alarming way when we put it in at 500 degrees for the first 30 minutes. The stuffing was pretty darn good--although I forgot to use salt and used a little too much stock. Next time I'll be careful. I used the standard trinity (green peppers, celery and onions), reconstituted oyster mushrooms, dried cherries, chopped almonds (although they were really crushed, thanks to my handy meat tenderizer), challah, chicken stock, two eggs, and some sage and parsley. Not bad, if I say so myself. R whipped up the cream for the pumpkin pie--although we were so full after dinner that pumpkin pie wound up being Friday's breakfast instead of Thanksgiving's dessert.

So all in all the weekend went pretty well. I talked to darling la femme C, which was a highlight, and started my grandmother's shawl. Also, in a display of sisterly fidelity, we accompanied our SIL B to Georgetown on Black Friday to do some shopping. R and I both valiantly resisted tearing out own heads off and feeding them to each other. We both hate crowds, and neither of us is particularly fond of shopping. But lo, it was Not As Bad as expected. Plus, R took me to Bennihana for the first time in my life. It was tasty and fun and I'd defintiely go again, but I must confess it did not quite live up to my expectations. I was anticipating daring feats of tabletop acrobatics and potentially some fireeating. This is what happens when you build things up in your head for 27 years. Regardless, they had tasty tasty shrimp and good veggies. It carries the Q.W. Seal of Approval.

That's it for now.

previous - next

Die Entfuehrung
Die Entfuehrung aus dem Serail (The Abduction From
the Seraglio).
Which Mozart Opera Does Your Life Most Resemble?
brought to you by Quizilla

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com