Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

nu, what's up?

2006-01-24 - 4:00 p.m.

I have discovered a new and totally unique talent. I can call my cat to me using overtone singing. The other day, R and I were settling down for a short winter's nap (name that allusion!) and I wished the cat to come settle in with us. However, she was infinitely more interested in sitting on the sink and pointedly ignoring us. R tried whistling, cajoling and insulting her parentage. I started in with the overtone singing, and she whipped her head around. She promptly jumped down, trotted over and jumped up on the bed. I had told R of my amazing abilities back when I was fighting Lungfest 2005, but he had not really believed until that moment. Clearly, I am a font of earthy and folksy animal wisdom. I can become the Cat Whisperer. AM BRILLIANT!!

Also brilliant is my co-worker V. As all of you really should know, Friday is Mozart's 250th birthday. V called me this afternoon to plan a little birthday party on Friday for the Big M. She's bringing a cake and finding some candles, and I'm in charge of putting together a CD that will be on repeat in the kitchen all day. I'm going to put on some of his more popular works, even if those are not necessarily the ones I think are most important. Naturally I think the operas are the pinacle of his career and his crowning achievements. That's another post--look for it on Friday.

In response to my earlier post pleading for Giada de Lauentiis' cookbook, the fabulous and magnificient Prince R bought it for me. It is winging its merry way towards me even as I write this. He claims not to have caved into my internet wheedling, claiming instead that he was seduced by the memory of her chicken cacciatore. Regardless, soon I shall be whipping up delectable Italian food every day.

In other news, there is no other news. R and I have booked travel to my national conference in indeterminate city below the latitudinal Mason Dixon line, so he is all set to play and I am all set to work my little fanny off. HAR HAR, I said "fanny." I am a twelve-year-old boy, and not a very funny one at that.

previous - next

Die Entfuehrung
Die Entfuehrung aus dem Serail (The Abduction From
the Seraglio).
Which Mozart Opera Does Your Life Most Resemble?
brought to you by Quizilla

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com