Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

weekly update

2006-04-07 - 11:22 a.m.

Y'all, worm castings are the shit, and I mean that in the metaphorical as well as the literal sense. I had foolishly transplanted a tender viola and then went on my merry way, ignoring it for two weeks. When I checked outside on Saturday, the poor plant was practically dead. I did what I could to revive it, removing all dead leaves, and then packed some castings around it. Less than a week later, the plant is healthy, leaves are growing back and there are even a couple blooms on it! I've also heartily mulched my perenially sickly rose with the "black gold," and am waiting to see whether we'lll get some nice blooms this year.

On the list in the near future is plowing a row for my pumpkin seedlings (preferrably this weekend), and planting my sweet pea seeds. I just ordered a set of heirloom seeds from these guys, and I'm anxiously awaiting their arrival. I also finally got R to agree to yank out another hideous bush so that our second baby hosta has some room to grow in the corner. I'll be filling in the bare spots with impatiens, which abosultely rocked the house last year. But I really can't put those in until May, and I should probably wait until at least mid-April to put in my tomatoes and basil as well. I already have a mint pot going, with spearmint, peppermint and chocolate mint. Talk about yummy! I can't wait to start brewing some nice mint tea, and once I start reaping my basil crop I can experiment with basil-mint pesto. I'm ultra-excited.

In other news, either I'm coming down with something or the sadists in my building have turned the temperature down to "really fucking cold." I'm sitting here in my faux-fleece jacket, zipped up, with the hood over my head and a blanket over my legs. I feel like a freak, and I'm certain I look like one as well. Mmm, freaky goodness! But I'm just happy to be warm.

Tonight's plans include falling asleep by 9:15 pm.

previous - next

Die Entfuehrung
Die Entfuehrung aus dem Serail (The Abduction From
the Seraglio).
Which Mozart Opera Does Your Life Most Resemble?
brought to you by Quizilla

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com