Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

freaked

2002-10-15 - 12:43 p.m.

So last night I'm coming home from choir at about 10:15 when I start seeing all these roadblocks set up on the other side of the road. Cop cars start coming up from behind me. After about 10 minutes of this, I start getting the picture. I'm diverted off Route 50 shortly before it intersects with Route 7, so I try to cut over to 7 along the service road. Turns out the sniper attack was at the intersection of 50 and 7 at the Home Depot. I call R to let him know I have no idea when I'll be home. He wants to hike out to meet me, since our apartment is only 2 miles away. I tell him he's crazy, that he cannot leave the house on foot while there's a sniper on the loose. So I'm sitting in my car for about 2 hours last night. I'm only really scared for the first twenty minutes or so--then I realize that there are cops swarming all over the place and I'm probably in the safest place in the DC Metro area. Still, I don't want to be there. I haven't trembled so badly since the Sept. 11 attacks. Plus, after the first hour, I really have to go to the bathroom.

So now it's the next day, I've only had about 4 hours of sleep (and pretty crappy hours those were, interrupted by numerous nightmares) and I'm totally freaked out. We got gas this morning, but I don't want to go out to any more gas stations or stores until this guy is caught. I don't want to walk to our Mexican restaurant, which is 3 blocks away--I'll get in the car and drive. I received advice this morning not to walk to doors and entryways in a straight line, but rather to zigzag as it makes me a harder target to hit.

previous - next

Die Entfuehrung
Die Entfuehrung aus dem Serail (The Abduction From
the Seraglio).
Which Mozart Opera Does Your Life Most Resemble?
brought to you by Quizilla

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com